Thank You

The Coalition to Save ELA is tremendously grateful to the 30,000 Canadians who signed the Save ELA petition, the many individuals and organizations who listed their names on the in the Globe & Mail, and the wonderful volunteers who made this campaign a great success!

In public open letters, we thank the International Institute for Sustainable Development, the Government of Ontario, and the Government of Manitoba for their hard work and support in ensuring a future for the Experimental Lakes Area.

We thank the following organizations for their support of the ELA:

Alberta Lake Management Society
Association for the Sciences of Limnology and Oceanography
Atlantic Geoscience Society
Australian Society for Limnology
Boreal Forest Network
Canadian Aquatic Resources Section of the American Fisheries Society
Canadian Association of University Teachers
Canadian Rivers Institute
Canadian Society of Environmental Biologists
Canadian Wildlife Federation
Center for Ecological Research, Kyoto University
Council of Canadians
David Suzuki Foundation
District Municipality of Muskoka
Dryden Conservation Club
Dryden Naturalists
East Asian Federation of Ecological Societies
Ecological Society of America
Entomological Society of Canada
Entomological Society of Manitoba
Environment North
Evidence for Democracy
Federation of Ontario Cottage Associations
Friends of the Earth
Global Lake Ecological Observatory Network Steering Committee
Graduate Student Association, University of Waterloo
Great Rivers Center at Clarkson University
Grindstone Cottage Owners Association
Groupe de recherche interuniversitaire en limnologie et en environnement aquatique
Idle No More
International Association of Great Lakes Research
International Institute for Sustainable Development
International Society of Limnology
Israel Oceanographic & Limnological Research
Japanese Society of Limnology
Kenora’s ELA Support Group
Lake of the Woods District Property Owners Association
Lake Winnipeg Foundation
Lead Now
Mercury Films
Muskoka Lakes Association
Muskoka Ratepayers’ Association
National Council of Women of Canada
North American Lake Management Society
Northwestern Ontario Municipalities Association
Ontario Chapter of the American Fisheries Society
Ontario Federation of Anglers and Hunters
Porte Patrole
Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada
Public Service Alliance of Canada
Sierra Club of Canada
Smithsonian Environmental Research Center
Society for Freshwater Sciences
Society of Canadian Limnologists
Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry
Soyers Lake Ratepayers Association
The Citizens United for a Sustainable Planet
Water Institute at the University of Waterloo
Whiteshell Cottagers Association
Wilderness Committee

We acknowledge the following politicians, chiefs, and municipalities for their efforts:

Anne Minh-Thu Quach, MP
Bruce Hyer, MP
Chief Clifford Bull, Lac Seul Nation
Chief Eric Fisher, Wabasseemoong Independent Nation
Chief Leslie Cameron, Wabauskang First Nation
Chief Lorraine Cobiness, Ochiichagwe’Babigo’Ining Ojibway Nation
Chief Lorraine Major, Northwest Angle 37
City of Dryden
City of Kenora
City of Thunder Bay
Craig Scott, MP
Dave Canfield, Ontario Mayor of Kenora
Elizabeth May, MP
Francis Scarpaleggia, MP
Grand Chief Warren White, Grand Council Treaty #3
Hon. David Anderson, Former Minister of Fisheries and Minister of the Environment
Hon. Jim Bradley, Ontario Minister of the Environment
Hon. David Orazietti, Ontario Minister of Natural Resources
Hon. Gord Mackintosh, Manitoba Minister of Conservation and Water Stewardship
Hon. Greg Selinger, Premier of Manitoba
Hon. Tom Siddon, Former Minister of Fisheries
Hon. Kathleen Wynne, Premier of Ontario
Jon Gerrard, Manitoba MLA
Kennedy Stewart, MP
Kirsty Duncan, MP
Laurin Liu, MP
Lawrence MacAulay, MP
Megan Leslie, MP
Municipality of Neebing
Municipality of Sioux Lookout
Municipality of Taché
Niki Ashton, MP
Pat Martin, MP
Phil Fontaine, Former National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations
Robert Chisholm, MP
Rt. Hon. John Turner
Rt. Hon. Paul Martin
Sarah Campbell, Ontario MPP
Ted Hsu, MP
Town of Atikokan
Town of Rainy River
Town of Sioux Lookout
Township of Chapple
Township of Dorion
Township of Gillies
Township of Hornepayne
Township of Ignace
Township of Lake of the Woods
Township of Red Rock
Township of Sioux Narrows – Nestor Falls
Township of Terrace Bay

The Coalition to Save ELA is thankful to the many news outlets that reported on the uncertain fate of ELA over the last two years, including:

Al Jazeera
Alternatives Journal
Brandon Sun
Canadian Geographic
CBC As It Happens
CBC Power & Politics
CBC Quirks & Quarks
CBC Radio Noon
CBC Rick Mercer Report
CBC Shift
CBC The National
CBC Voyage North
Chronicle Journal
Dryden Observer
Edmonton Journal
Environmental Science and Technology
Flow Monitor
Global News
Globe and Mail
Hill Times
Huffington Post
Journal of Plankton Research
Kenora Daily Miner & News
Nature Manitoba News
Ottawa Citizen
Outdoor Canada
Outdoor Edge
Peterborough Examiner
Praire Dog
Public Radio International’s The World
Regina Leader-Post
The Current
The Guardian
The Tyee
Toronto Star
Vancouver Observer
Vancouver Sun
Winnipeg Free Press

One response to “Thank You

  1. Pingback: Finally, A Deal! | Save Canada's Experimental Lakes Area·

Comments are closed.